Avengers 2, Star Wars & Star Trek

The Avengers 2

Samuel L. Jackson says he doesn’t actually know whether he will be back as Nick Fury in The Avengers 2, though this sounds more like he just hasn’t asked Marvel yet as opposed to not being sure he wants to return:

I don’t know. They don’t tell me that kind of stuff. All I know is that I am doing Captain America 2. It’s been cool. The Marvel universe continues to grow and get better. I think I have four or five pictures left on my nine-picture deal, so I will just keep showing up.

Star Wars: Episode VII

Bryan Burk also offers another general update on the status of Bad Robot’s other big project:

We’re progressing on a schedule to hopefully begin next year, or the beginning of next year, and the location is still kind of floating around in the air all depending on script and a whole bunch of other issues. As I just said, everything is kind of a free-flowing thing, and when we feel like the story level on this script and everything is really coming together and schedules are all working and pieces line up, we prowl ahead, and Star Wars will be no different.

Are you a little bit surprised, even for you, about the level of interest or did you sort of know there would be a level of interest you’ve never had before on anything?
I mean, it’s Star Wars. It’s something that obviously has successfully been handed down from generation to generation in the last 40 years. If I weren’t working on the project, I’d have the same interest as everyone else because it’s something that I, too, am looking forward to seeing where the franchise goes next.

Star Trek Into Darkness

Producer Bryan Burk explains why it was crucial this film didn’t feel like a sequel:

Well consciously what we were doing when making the film was, we really wanted to make sure it was a film about – in our mind it was never really a sequel, it was its own movie going forward and it’s why the movie doesn’t have a number by it. It was a film that you should be able to jump in, if you’ve never seen it before you’d be able to jump right in, and obviously if you have seen it then you’ll be bringing your own emotion to it. We wanted to appeal to both. It was really important to try to reach a whole new audience so we had a lot of people in who not only had not seen the last film but were not Star Trek fans, or thought of themselves as not being Star Trek fans, or they had seen bits and pieces of Star Trek in the past and it was just not for them. So that was an important part of the process and strangely, early on, we started to realize, in that respect, we were successful in what we were trying to do, which is make a film that everybody would be able come out and not be scratching their head at all. And more importantly what we found with those people is that a lot of them said, “Hey it’s not what I thought it was going to be.” Which is a great reaction, particularly if they liked it.

He also discusses possible reference to Star Trek lore in the film:

We definitely had conversations about it early on and, you know, you can’t put everything in. The “red shirt” moment is obviously the moment when Chekov gets his red shirt, which isn’t as big as the “red shirt” moment from the last film. As you talk about it – and I’m the worst one to be talking about it because I do not know Star Trek [canon] as well as I know other [canon], but I’ll hear my fellow producers, who do know that world much more, talk about a whole bunch of things. When we start talking about these films there’s a whole bunch of things on the table that, time permitting, they would be all over the film. it’s just you can’t do everything in [every] film. Even in the last film we introduced Klingons, but you never saw it because in the final cut it didn’t work for us to bring them in. Fortunately they made it in this film. But there’s just a lot of possibilities, particularly in a world that’s been around for 45 years, of things you can put in. If they’ll continue to let us make these films well continue to keep populating it with things that impress.

I’m curious if there are any Easter eggs that are in the background that fans should be looking out for on their second viewing?

That’s a very good question…I’m trying to think right now off the top of my head and I think there is, but I can’t remember because we had conversations early on. There’s one I can’t really address comfortably yet, I don’t want to say yes and have people looking for things that ended up not being in it, but there might be.

http://collider.com/bryan-burk-star-trek-into-darkness-star-wars-interview/

 

 

 

 

